Skip navigation

Those of you familiar with Aviary will know that in recent years they have made it their mission to make creativity tools more accessible by offering their own free to use online solutions.

Although better known for their visual editing tools they also now have an sequencer and audio editor called (in their tradition of naming their products after our feathered friends) Roc and Myna respectively, and its the first of these solutions I’ll be taking a look at in this article.

roc 1.jpg

 

Roc is essentially a basic and easy to use sample based sequencer which allows you to build patterns from provided sample sets or either record or import your own. As you can see from the screenshot simplicity is key here – although I have to admit it took a little bit of exploring to get a grasp of how to access some of the available features.

 

In terms of actually creating patterns however I’m not sure Roc could be more intuitive and easy and I found I was happily working away with the Flash based interface in no time at all – especially since Aviary have been kind enough to include a fairly wide range of sample hits to play with.

roc2.jpg

 

The only real area where I felt there could be some development was with regards to the editing of individual samples since, although this feature was available, it didn’t seem to want to allow me to trim the sample in the way I wanted.


With my drum pattern created in Roc I decided to save it to Aviary’s servers, where its now free for anyone to use as it can be downloaded (WAV or Mp3), sent by email, edited in Myna or even embedded. Now that’s what I call sharing!

In the next part of this article I’ll be taking a look at Myna, Aviary’s web based audio editor – so stay tuned!


Leave a Reply

